posted May 28, 2018, 8:46 AM by Ruben Martinez   [ updated May 29, 2018, 10:45 AM by Charlotte Turrubiartes ]

The Steele Canyon Players and SCHS Instrumental Music Department’s Spring 2018 production of Rodgers & Hammerstein’s, The Sound of Music, was awarded 2018 Best High School Musical on May 27 at the Broadway San Diego Awards. Of the 28 shows in the competition, Steele Canyon High School’s production was one of three finalists (Mission Hills H.S.: American Idiot / Cathedral Catholic H.S.: 42nd Street).

Additionally, three of the Steele Canyon Players received award nominations for their roles in The Sound of Music. Leanna Neely (Class of '19) received a nomination for Best Actress for her portrayal of the "Mother Abbess." Jackson Shaffer (Class of '19) received a nomination for Best Actor for his portrayal of "Captain Von Trapp." Mary Rose Vadeboncoeur (Class of '19) was nominated for Best Actress for her role as "Maria."

The students in the cast performed at the awards show at the Balboa Theatre in downtown San Diego in a competitive Tony Awards® style adjudication process to determine which production would win $1,000 for their school theatre department. The ten finalists for Best Actor and Best Actress competed, as well. A panel of celebrity judges and industry professionals selected one actor and actress to represent the 2018 Broadway San Diego Awards at the National High School Musical Theatre Awards® (NHSMTA) also know as the Jimmy Awards® in New York City in June 2018.

This is Steele Canyon Players and Instrumental Music Department's first appearance at the Broadway San Diego Awards.

About Broadway San Diego Awards – The Broadway San Diego Awards program is now entering its fifth year and the competition is sponsored by the San Diego County Credit Union. The Mission of Broadway San Diego Awards is to utilize a competitive Tony Awards® style adjudication process, to find the very best of high school musical theater talent in San Diego County; and in collaboration with the Jimmy Awards®, also known as the National High School Musical Theater Awards® (NHSMTA), to present these talented young performers with a unique scholarship opportunity to advance their educations and careers in the genre of musical theater.

Updated May 28, 2018