Academics‎ > ‎


Logo for California CAHSEE test

In California, all high school students must pass a test to earn a high school diploma. The test is called the CAHSEE. Some students with disabilities do not have to pass this test.

California created the test to improve student achievement in high schools. The test helps to ensure that students graduate from high school with grade level skills in reading, writing, and math.
  • Students first take this test in grade ten. 
  • If they do not pass the test in grade ten, they have more chances to take the test. I
  • n grade eleven, they can take the test two times. 
  • In grade twelve, they have up to five times to take the test.
For more information about the CAHSEE, contact Steele Canyon High School, 619-660-3500.

Smarter Balanced test logo

The Smarter Balanced Assessment System utilizes computer-adaptive tests and performance tasks that allow students to show what they know and are able to do. This system is based on the Common Core State Standards (CCSS) for English language arts/literacy (ELA) and mathematics.

The Smarter Balanced Assessment System has three components designed to support teaching and learning throughout the year: the Summative Assessments, the Interim Assessments, and the Digital Library. The Smarter Balanced Assessment System Graphic (PDF) and video display the relationship between these components, the CCSS, and college and career readiness.
Summative Assessments
In grades three through eight and eleven for ELA and mathematics. The summative assessments are administered as part of the California Assessment of Student Performance and Progress (CAASPP) System.
Interim Assessments
Designed to improve and promote teaching and learning by providing information that can be used to monitor student progress toward mastery of the CCSS. These optional resources are available to all kindergarten through grade twelve (K–12) teachers in ELA and mathematics.
Digital Library
Consists of tools and practices designed to help teachers utilize formative assessment processes for improved teaching and learning in all grades. These optional resources are available to all California educators.